

## The Most Reverend Desmond M Tutu, O.M.S.G. D.D. F.K.C. Anglican Archbishop Emeritus of Cape Town

PO Box 1092, Milnerton, Cape Town 7435 Suite 44, Frazzitta Business Park, cnr Freedom Way & Koeberg Road, Milnerton 7441 Tel: (+27) 021 552 7524

Fax: (+27) 021 552 7529 E-mail: mpilo@iafrica.com

15th May 2008

A letter to:

President George W Bush President Nicolas Sarkozy Prime Minister Gordon Brown

Your Excellencies

We appeal to you to immediately use your capacity as members of the Security Council to send humanitarian aid to Burma.

The effect of the cyclone on the Burmese people has been devastating. Perhaps 200,000 are dead and 1.5 million more face imminent death from thirst, hunger, and disease.

The refusal of the Burmese military regime to accept full, adequate humanitarian aid from the international community is nothing short of criminal, and unprecedented in recent history. By refusing aid, the Burmese regime has effectively declared war on its own population and is committing crimes against humanity.

The solution to this problem lies in the United Nations Security Council authorizing immediate shipments of aid to Burma over the objections of the military regime. However, China, Russia, and others have paralysed the Council. As a result the world is making the same mistake it made on Rwanda, accepting solutions that were guaranteed to fail.

Hundreds of thousands of pounds of food - helicopters, ships and amphibious vehicles lie ready, waiting, off Burma's shores while the Burmese people die.

There is no time to wait. Thirteen full days after the cyclone, it is clear that the Burmese military regime will not accept humanitarian aid.

The UK, United States, and France have the capacity to respond immediately. Please use your ships, helicopters, and all other tools within your capacity to immediately deliver humanitarian aid to the people of Burma. We must wait no longer for permission from China and Burma's military regime. The time to save 1.5 million lives is now.

God bless you

co-signed by:

+Desmond M Tutu Archbishop Emeritus, Nobel Peace Laureate 1984

Betty Williams, Nobel Peace Laureate 1977

Adolfo Pérez Esquival, Nobel Peace Laureate 1980 Sally Milne for Pugwash, Nobel Peace Laureate 1995

H.E. President José Ramos Horta, Nobel Peace Laureate 1996

Jody Williams, Nobel Peace Laureate 1997 Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Laureate 2003

cc: Ban ki Moon

Secretary General of the United Nations Organisation

Chancellor Angela Merkel

+ Mlonun